It’s Getting Closer!

Club 34 had its best showing yesterday with 18 and 15 meeting at the IHOP for a fun filled day of scrabble.  We were privileged to have Alan Stern come for the entire day and night.  Alan directs the club in LA formerly called “The Killer Club.”  But that name has been taken over by Club 34.  Three Barbaras showed up last night, newcomer Barbara Creighton, oldies Barbara Ring and Barbara Alfond.  Maddy Kamen was on fire taking 7 of 8 games but she will get her just payback one of these days!  LOL..

Prior to the 1pm club I made some very important announcements.  I will be awarding 4 unknown and unannounced gifts at the end of the year for the player with the highest winning percentage, the player with the best attendance, the player most improved and the player who is the most congenial, friendly and best liked in Club 34.  I will decide the last two winners while the first two will be taken from the yearly stats provided by Tom Titus and David Pearl.

Our voluntary donations are moving forward!  Last night I walked into the playroom only to be hit by a $100 bill from James “Hopalong” Cassidy.  I was taken aback to say the least but it was much appreciated.  With that in mind, I have been conversing by email with Lisa Rivera of the HB Independent.  I am leaning towards a colored ad which will be $25 more but I think well worth it.  I plan to run the ad once a month for 6 months.  Once I have the final ad in place I will forward to all Club members so they may look at it.  Once that is finalized, I will look into the local colleges, probably starting with Golden West College because of its proximity to Club 34.

David Poder, Director

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.