FINALLY, SOMETHING TO WRITE ABOUT!!

It has been nearly 3 months since I last wrote in my Blog but now I finally have something to talk about. It has been 6 months since our virtual club TNVSC34 was formed. What a success that has been!! 22 out of a possible 44 Club 34 members decided to take part. Im sure there are no regrets. If any of the remaining 22 non-participants wish to play with us, let me know. We also found 24 out of towners who wanted to play. They came from Los Angeles and as far away as Washington DC.

Club 34 pre-pandemic has met at the IHOP restaurant in Huntington Beach on Tuesday afternoon and evening for the past 30 years, same time, same place. Because of its rising popularity, I started a third session on Friday morning with mixed results. Once we reconvene sometime next year, I have decided to do away with the Friday session and keep TNVSC34 on that day, 4 games Friday only. It has just been too much fun playing on ISC and I would hate to lose the friendships we have seen from our faraway friends. Once we have a safe and effective vaccine, we will meet again. But there will be restrictions. We will continue to wear masks and wash our hands after every game. Hand sanitizers will run amok in our playroom. Everyone must adhere to this and everyone must clean their Scrabble equipment every week before they are allowed to play. And everyone must be vaccinated before they can play at Club 34 again.
At least that is how I feel at the present time. Until I am told differently by the CDC or Dr. Fauchi or Dr. Guypta, that is how things will be.

Before I forget, I want to mention those who have left us. Can you believe that it has been exactly one year since Pat Reed left us to travel northbound. And of course we also lost Maliha who made Superscrabble a montly enjoyment. Also Esther Kisich left us as well. These people will never be replaced and will leave a void in our lives once we return to play at Club 34.

When I last wrote to you August 8, I mentioned how my Blog was more than just a Scrabble discussion. Since I rarely use Facebook where many people voice their political or religious beliefs, I decided to use this Blog for that purpose. You wont find me talking about religion, thats for sure, but politics is a different matter. I am the most apolitical person you would ever meet, that is until 4 years ago.

People ask me all the time “how do you spend your time during the pandemic?” I still have medical consulting work and directing TNVSC34 has certainly been fulfilling and taken up alot of my free time. I have found myself watching CNN non-stop and enjoying watching Chris Cuomo, Anderson Cooper, Don Lennon and the like…

But I guess my wife didn’t think I was busy enough so she went to Barnes and Noble and bought me some very interesting reading material. So I spend my days reading John Bolton’s “The Room Where It Happened”, Bob Woodward’s “Rage” and Michael Cohen’s “Betrayal”. Very fascinating reads, so fascinating in fact that I think all of you should read them before you cast your vote next Tuesday unless of course you have already voted. And please don’t make me forget Mary Trump’s “Too Much and Never Enough”….

I know that you have heard this before but on November 3 you will have the most important election of your lifetime. Ask yourself “are you better off now than 4 years ago?” Do you want to continue living in Trump’s world? Do you enjoy this pandemic, unemployment, racial strife and hatred, true divisiveness or do you not?

Do you want another 4 years of someone in the White House who is a malignant narcissist, a pathological liar, a tax evader, draft dodger, slum lord and just a not very nice person? Or do you want calm, empathy, togetherness brought back to the White House? The choice is yours but as far as I am concerned there is only one choice….

Vote Biden/Harris on November 3. We have to get back to how things were a few years ago. This is madness in its worst hour. Do we want a demagod in the White House or do we want reason???

David Poder, Director

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.