The IHOP Make Over!!

How can you improve the appearance of a restaurant that makes pancakes??   Come to the IHOP next Tuesday and you will find out!  Yesterday was another great turnout for Club 34.  26 and 12 showed up but so did the noise.  Our noise czar Don Platt was missing in action and it was obvious.  I dont know how to address this issue any further so all I can suggest to those who are really bothered by the noise is to bring earplugs and use them.  Enough said…

We were happy to see the Jason Marks family come back last night.  Jason’s two young daughters played two games last night and seem to display enough passion for Scrabble to continue throughout their college careers.  Thus they will be seen at Club 34 for many years to come since they are only 10 and 12 years old.  I hope they bring some of their friends in the near future.  Hats off to Joanie and Tom Brown for playing with them last night..

Itzi Burns returned last night after a 2 month absence.  Now in her 6th month of pregnancy and 7th child to be, Itzi brings a wonderful smile and personality to our Club.   An old friend James Kitchens reappeared after a year’s absence.  James who came to us from Meetup spends most of his time deep sea fishing in the Pacific or dirt bike riding somewhere in the desert but found time to come back to us yesterday.

When Tuesday rolls around, I can always count on receiving several texts from players who cant make it for one reason or another, will be late or must leave early, etc. etc…  Then there is the case of Pat Reed who really wanted to come play with us but was locked in her garage.  Well, at least she had good intentions.

Some of the new players tell me that they receive my email that announces a new Blog posting is upon us but cant get into the website for various reasons.  All you have to do is go to the link under my name on the email.  That should get you right into the website, then go to the Blog section and there you have it.  Very easy..

I announced several weeks ago that I have found a wonderful location for our future Blankheads parties.  Twenty years ago Bob Peters and Paul Trachtenberg found this group, had monthly gatherings, pot luck dinners, lots of laughs and great camaraderie..  Then Paul couldnt host it any further so for the most part Gretchen Cowan stepped up to the plate and took over.  I didnt think it was fair that she be the only one so I took it upon myself to try to find a new location to have more of these parties.  I did find such a location at Joanie Scafuto’s clubhouse in Huntington Beach l0 minutes from the IHOP.  Its hard to reserve this room but I was able to do so for February 24.  I didnt know at the time it was also Oscar night but I cant or will not change the date.  I have passed out a signup sheet but to date only 8 players have signed up.  We need more or I will cancel the event now and forever for lack of interest.  What I will do just for this day is to move up the time to 10am instead of 11 and also have just 6 games instead of 7 so everyone can get home to watch the Oscars which starts at 5pm..  If that doesnt work, I will cancel the event.  So I hope more people decide to attend…


David Poder, Director

Posted in Uncategorized

February 1….

We are already into our second month of 2019.   If its Friday, it must be Scrabble at the IHOP.  This will be our 4th Friday session of the year.  We have been averaging 10 players and expect another 10 to show up today.  How nice it would be if we saw 20 instead.  So if you have nothing to do today, why don’t you drop by at 11am and play some Scrabble.  Last week we had Bob Freiberg, Beth Byrne and Fern Trausch make their inaugural appearances.  Who might surprise us today??

Last Tuesday we had one of our best attendances ever!!  29 and 14 showed up and all had a great time…  All of our Club czars were present.  Don Platt, the noise czar;  Najat Reikes, the health czar;  Bill Lapinski, the temperature czar;  and of course the ultimate czar, yours truly.  So everything went very smoothly.

We were so happy to see the return of Sheila Bulthuis who moved to New Mexico last November.  She comes to town on occasion for business and to see family so was able to drop by, maybe even next Tuesday as well.

I would like to pay special mention to two valuable Club members.  Pat Reed has been battling health issues for quite some time.  She has done everything in her power to get better so that she can attend to her first love!!   Attending Club 34 which is very important to her!!  We only wish her a speedy recovery so she may come to our Club for many years to come.  And then there is our youngest member Desiree Engel at the tender age of 98.  Desiree has been battling an upper respiratory bug and almost had to be admitted to a local hospital.  But she is one tough customer!  I have been told that she will be coming to Club today so she must have made a remarkable recovery.  Thank goodness for that.  Desiree has given all of so much hope and has set such a wonderful example that we all can strive for!!  We all want to keep attending Club 34 when we are 98.  That is our ultimate goal…

I want to mention another valuable member of Club 34, Alan Stern..  5 years ago when i took over Club 34, Alan was very instrumental in my achieving NASPA directorship.  We have become very good friends ever since.  Alan is a very busy guy, directing his own Club on Wednesday nights and working as a tour director in Hollywood the rest of the week.  But when he has a chance to come to Club 34 he does!!  He doesnt live around the corner.  He actually travels 7 freeways to get to Huntington Beach but he does as much as he can to help support Club 34.  I really appreciate that and try to support his Club when I can.

Last Tuesday Alan and I played a game on a Scrabble board with tiles whose lettering was so faded that the game quite possibly was lost because of this.  It was ridiculous to say the least.  The owner of this set was warned that he must have new tiles or he wont be able to play at the Club.  Its not that difficult for all of us.  Make sure your equipment is up to date!!

Blankheads is upon us.  February 24 at Joanie Scafuto’s clubhouse in Huntington Beach!!  I had the signup sheet in the room Tuesday and only 5 people signed up.  Thats awful!!  Im trying to keep the spirit of the Blankheads alive and well, a club founded by Paul Trachtenberg and Bob Peters 20 years ago.  So please sign up and join us that day.  It will be a potluck affair, 7 games in total.  We will start at ll and finish in plenty of time to watch the Oscars that night.  Or you can tape the show!!  So please sign up this Tuesday.  It hasnt been that easy to find another location but this one looks very appealing..


David Poder, Director

Posted in Uncategorized