War of Words! War in Israel!

For years we have been meeting every Tuesday to battle over a Scrabble board. But last week Hamas invaded Israel in a brutal attack. Now Israel is retaliating with one goal in mind. The total annihilation of Hamas. They have no other choice. Unfortunately, two of our most esteemed members had planned for six months a trip to Israel for a family Bar Mitzvah. So off they went last week just a few days before the invasion.

I have been in communication often with Anthea Palmos and Amnon Meyers. They are safe living in hotel bunkers in Tel Aviv and Jerusalem. They are planning to return home on Tuesday. Safe travels!!! Just another terrible travel story I have heard about over these last many months. Much safer to stay at home that’s for sure.

Another 20 showed up last Tuesday. We seem to hold that number steady so I am grateful for that. Two weeks ago I had a 24 game win streak and after I played Ken Louie my losing streak was set at one. Good Job Ken… Last week we had some fine performances with Jeff’s high game of 573 and Lorrys triple triple 158 play toughies. In my opening game against Ken my first play was the natural finicky so I knew I would have a good day. Ken kept me on hold for awhile but let the play stand. Finnicky is also good….I also played the natural fazenda which you dont see every day.

Some housekeeping rules need to be repeated. Please keep your scorecards pristine!! I mean legible, no mistakes, no omissions. Jeff needs to read the scorecards to continue reporting the stats. I dont know why this is a repeated problem. Why cant you record your bingos so he can read them. Why cant you add your scores correctly? Why do you forget to write in your opponents names?? What is so hard about that? I am going to start calling you out on this and have you correct your mistakes before we play the next game!!! Or would you like me to start collecting $1 for each mistake?

And these cell phones!!!!!! Silence them before you come in the playroom. There cant be anything so important that wont wait. There are 2 players in particular who repeatedly violate the cell phone rules. You know who you are… Silence your phones. They are annoying to other players in the room!!!!

Covid is here to stay. It is not going away. Several of our members have come down with this in the past few months–Alan Stern, Mark Bennett and more recently Kim Peterson. She should be returning to Club action this Tuesday. The vaccines wont keep Covid away but if you do get it, your response should be much milder. I got my Flu and RSV vaccines last week, same arm, same day. A little arm soreness but nothing more. I will be getting my next Covid booster in 2 weeks. It is so important that all of us old folk be vaccinated! This is my medical advice for the day..

It is already mid October so Christmas cannot be far away. That means a Club Christmas party. Last year we met at the Olive Garden. The food was ok, there was no ambience and we had to be out of there in two hours. Many of the club members preferred that to Baccis nextdoor to the IHOP because it was cheaper. But I prefer to return to Baccis this year. I have not spoken with Bacci management so what I am about to say is tentative at best.

As I remember last year I did want to return to Baccis but they wanted more than 20 guaranteed because they are usually closed on Tuesdays but later they changed their mind but I already had reserved the Olive Garden. So I am hoping to return there but it will be earlier this year December 5 because I am expecting a new grandson to enter my life around December 16.

As I remember Baccis gave us 3 options to choose from. They ranged from $40-$60 or more if you included entree, salad, desert and drinks. So if you are interested in coming to the Christmas dinner, you can for $20 and the Club will pick up the rest from its yearly donations. Only club members will be allowed to attend with the possible exception of my better half. That is what perks are all about. I will give you more information after I have spoken with Bacci management. Stay tuned….

Your Director

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.