Its Official!!

Our 2023 Christmas Club dinner is now in the books. Another amazing success story with 22 members in attendance Tuesday night at Bacis restaurant. I must admit that I will have to take out a second on my house to help pay for the dinner. It was somewhat pricey so next year I may have to find another venue more cost effective. I briefly spoke before dinner to talk about the state of Club 34s success over the years. Now nearly 40 strong with 25 in attendance every Tuesday afternoon, Club 34 remains quite relevant in the Scrabble scene.

We continue to attract new players. This year Ellen Polsky and David Prince joined us on a regular basis. Recently we have added Beverly Moutet and Marc Potter. And I received confirmation from Judy Cole of NASPA that the Huntington Beach’s Club 34 first established in 1978 is by far the biggest Scrabble club in the country. Judy did not know of any clubs that meet 20 every week, certainly not 25. So that is something we all can be proud of.

I hope to have some non-Scrabble events next year but for now I await the birth of grandson Micah Jude Poder Fhima next week and the destination wedding of my son Dorel off the coast of Spain next May. In fact I will be gone for 2 weeks with co-director Jeff Polan at the helm. So if there is anyone who has not come to Club 34 in the past because they did not like me personally( I cant imagine such a thing), here will be the chance to come to Club 34.

We hope to continue to grow as a family oriented Scrabble club with new and old members coming quite frequently. We should be seeing the return of Rick Duncan and Karin Borchard soon as well as a more frequent sighting of Anthea Palmos and Amnon Meyers. Club 34 will remain strong now and in the foreseeable future.

Have a safe and prosperous Holiday season. Be ready to come back in 2024 stronger and better than ever!! Be safe and we will see you soon…

Your Director

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.